Skip to content

Acceptance.

August 11, 2014

Few days ago I was scrolling thorough “Acceptance” blogs and I found this quote: “Acceptance doesn’t mean resignation. It means understanding that something is what it is and there’s got to be a way thorough it.” – Michael J. Fox -
Thank you Michael! I needed that. I have to accept that my pain will PROBABLY never go away. You see – I’m very optimistic, I said PROBABLY… :) . This means that I’m accepting only probability of IT….. 50 percent only. The other 50 percent I save for hope that this pain will go away. Some day… Soon… I’m going to keep searching for cure…
If you read my previous posts, you know that I have try a lot of different remedies for gout and I’m on anti gout Diet. But so far nothing really works. On the pain scale 1 to 10 it fluctuates between 5 and 7.
But hey, there was a time – last year- it was on 11… :)
So, there is some relieve…
I think that my body suffered to much damage from Chemo and Radiation to be able to fix the problem.
But hey, it is what it is … And life goes on…

Do you know, that over 100 Million Americans are suffering with some kind of chronic pain?
Hello You All! I know how You are feeling!
Yeah, chronic pain. It sounds so hopeless.
But let’s remember – we can accept IT – but we will never give up the hope – that some day…

Thank you for visit.
God Bless you All.
Oneanna65

38 Comments
  1. I don’t know whether you saw my earlier post about a book I found which really helped my husband. The book is Beating Gout: A Sufferer’s Guide to Living Pan Free by Victor Konshin. The Kindle version is under $10 right now. It made a HUGE difference for JD and we’ve since passed it on to a local acquaintance for her husband. Granted, I don’t know whether this would help you considering your other medical history (chemo, etc.) but for what it’s worth, I wanted to sure I sent you the title in case you missed my previous comment. It’s a simple enough protocol to follow and JD hasn’t had a genuine gout attack in some time.

  2. Wishing you relief and a positive attitude to carry on. May the sun shine a bit brighter for you today.

  3. Acceptance is so hard. Your post was inspirational. Thank you so much for it! I hope it gets better soon and you no longer live with constant pain.

  4. Bless you sweet. Hoping your pain is tolerable this week.

  5. Hello! I too suffer from chronic pain, but I don’t let it control me anymore! I am the boss! Well most of the time, when it gets to bad it’s the boss lol but the rest of the time it’s all me :-) lol You are right it can always be worse. We have the upper hand though! We have God and Christ! With Them there is ALWAYS hope! And we know that one day we will feel no pain! God bless you and my prayers are with you!

  6. Hubby is on painkillers every day, but he never gives in, or let it get the better of him. No two days are the same, and so he takes each one as it comes.
    For years now rather than complain about what we can’t do, we concentrate on what we can do. Sometimes, it just takes a bit longer, that’s all.

  7. Not giving up is so important. Remaining positive is too. The thing I have learned about acceptance is that I don’t have to like it but I can’t change it.

  8. Chronic illness is hard. But you’re so right. If we accept how things are, there’s always hope for a better tomorrow, even if we can’t change things…
    Peace to you,
    Steve

  9. For me accepting that the pain isn’t going away meant that I stopped fighting it. When I stopped fighting it I suddenly found all kinds of things I could do to make my life easier, better, more livable, that I hadn’t seen when all my energy was devoted to fighting the pain. Eventually I did find something that helps – it doesn’t take the pain away, but like you, it used to be an 10, or even 11, and now I actually have the occasional pain-free day. It’s not gout, so the details are different, but I believe that living with pain is pretty much the same for all of us.

  10. I can’t say much about chronic illness as I am lucky, (so far) but I have witnessed how it can change peoples lives. Mum wouldn’t accept what would happen to her if she didn’t change her way of life and eventually she lost her battle. My mother in law, accepted, went through Chemo and Radiation , making small changes to her life at the age of 77 and is currently walking the three mile block faster than most people of 50.
    Thank you for being a visitor to Bob’s site and I wish you better days to come.

  11. Trying to imagine walking a mile in your mocs every day. What I have had to accept in my life seems trivial–no comparison. May you have healing.

  12. I have been inspired by your post and the comments in it. I now know why I have to accept any sorts of pain in life and move on. God bless you

  13. So sorry for your pain. Sincerely hope and prayer for a healthier tomorrow.

  14. Your determination to rise above your pain is humbling and inspiring. I hope you find healing warmth from any source that helps you, and thank you for visiting my blog.

  15. If we can focus on the wonderful things in life, we are better equipped to cope with chronic pain. I pray for your healing. :)

  16. I am so sorry to hear about your pain and wish I could help. But thank you so much for this post. Acceptance is something I struggle with and this has really helped. x

  17. Hi there

    It is with pleasure that I nominate you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. You can read the post about this here: http://wp.me/p4Do1g-gd.

    Best, Angie K

  18. This blog about “Acceptance” has touched my soul, Anna. I am struggling with accepting the end of a relationship–and I have had some very dark days—but you have made me understand more clearly what ACCEPTANCE means. You DO have a sense of humor– like it when you said “last year it was 11″ and then you posted the Smiley Face! …LOL….Love your honest writing!

  19. Hello Oneanna, thank you for your like of my post on two mystics. My very best wishes to you. Phil Stanfield

  20. Hey Anna, you are very inspiring, thanks for writing about all this!

  21. Those who live without pain have a much harder time understanding it. We can’t choose for things to be any easier, but we still have choices. Your choices are inspiration. May the pain recede and may all the small blessings find you to make every day still worth every moment.

  22. I hope the pain is better today. That quote on Acceptance is great. Thanks for sharing.

  23. You have a fantastic attitude, hope the pain isn’t too bad today!

  24. At a former job, I spent some time reviewing rehabilitation caseworker reports relating to workplace injuries. In 95% of cases of chronic pain, the client reported that their pain was 10 out of 10. You have significant credibility with me for stating that your pain is 5 to 7. That means you have some judgment about your own condition, and what you say about it is likely to make sense.

    There is an alternative approach to hope, however, and it is the conquest of despair. From now 18 years of being trapped by poverty in my father’s apartment, I came to give up hope of ever being able to move out into my own private residence, and it was precisely giving up hope that enabled me to enjoy life to the extent that I am in a position to enjoy it. Passing through despair is the toughest thing anyone has to do, but it is very much possible to conquer despair and achieve serenity.

  25. Anna, by the looks of the comments, you don’t reply. But I do hope you read them. Because I want YOU to know I suffer with chronic pain every day for the past almost 21 years now. After a severe back injury and 2 botched back surgeries I was not walking for 2 years. Fast forward today, I am no longer a drug addict, I am walking and biking, living so much life I don’t know how I cram it all in, and much of what I do is Mind over Matter. Keeping a sense of humor is a must. Yet some days, I wish ….. I wish for a cure versus a titanium cage (shudder) that surgeons are just panting to put into my back. I wish for a cure that would encourage my body to heal itself. I wish that for you as well and all chronic pain sufferers. My passion is photography and when I am involved with it, I actually can and do block out pain. Not all the time, but yes, most. I also have made an appt. with my OB-GYN to seek out my options for post Menopause misery. That in of itself is a book to write about and to have that plus my back and leg pain, not able to handle lately. I encourage YOU to keep going, to not give up hope, to do things in LIFE you LOVE, and YES I do know how challenging that is when all you want to do is curl up in a ball and cry. I also really want to thank you for being a part of Petals, which means the world to me. I’ve been SOOOOO busy getting photographs, I haven’t been doing what I usually do …. this, as in visiting my followers blogs and commenting when I can. Tonight I followed you back from my site to here, and I am SO glad I did. BIG (((HUGS))) and Much Love, Amy

    • I can really identify with your reply. Not that I have as much pain as you, but the comment about being able to block it out when involved with an activity about which you have so much passion. I too am a photographer, and when “into it” I feel very little pain. What a blessing. Then, later, I have the beautiful images to remember that time by.

      I wish relief to all the beautiful people here who suffer every day.

  26. I love your positive thinking. I try to focus on the good in every situation, even if that means looking long and hard for a while until I find a silver lining. It sets my thoughts going in the right direction. Energy follows thought. :-)

  27. I was wrong (sorry!). This site says the egg WHITE has the most sulphur. I’ve been eating both, but I don’t have gout. I limit to one egg a day, but you should probably have none, of course, which I think you already said you’re doing.

    It’s worth a try! Best of luck.

  28. Hi there! when I read your blog, I feel sorry for those who has a very healthy body but don’t know how to take good care of it. But, I’m so proud of you; your determination and positive outlook in life despite of adversities inspires more people who are reading your blog. Keep inspiring people :) and God Bless.

  29. Thank you for this post. I found it very uplifting. I hope you can find some relief from your chronic pain. I do empathize. All the best

  30. Thanks for liking my post and much more thanks for what you wrote in yours – they make me think how small my problems are, I admire your honesty and sense of humour despite this awful pain. Wish you all the best

  31. I recently joined an online group of women who suffer chronic pain from the same radiation damage, from the same cancer was I was blessed with. I was amazed at the relief I got simply from learning my ordeal was unique to me. Knowing you share an experience somehow makes it easier to deal with. Thank you for all you have shared.

  32. I’ve read several of your blogs and enjoy your sense of humor and admire your positive spirit.

  33. Well said.

  34. I can identify with your mindset. I have peripheral neuropathy, which reared its ugly head during a trip to Cabo San Lucas nearly four and a half years ago. One day I was fine, the next I had numbness and pain in my feet that most likely will never go away. Some days are better than others, but I’m always mindful of the condition. After visiting doctor after doctor without relief, I finally came to a point of acceptance. That doesn’t mean I like it; far from it. But I began going back to the gym and using the treadmill in the colder weather, and walking and hiking in the warmer. The feet hurt, but I know I’m not doing any harm to them…and I’m only helping my heart, lungs, and overall well being. So, keep on keeping on and, who know, maybe one day we’ll both find cures. Good luck!

  35. I love your positive attitude, and pray you find healing and relief soon. I pray everyone who commented here with chronic pain find relief, as well. Thanks for visiting my blog which lead me here.

  36. Hello I live with chronic pain among other things and acceptance is something I am and have been struggling with for the last 8 years. I am so glad I read your post as I was thinking that it did mean giving up that theres any hope of it going away but you have shown me acceptance in another light so thank you so much and I hope you get some relief x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 24,565 other followers

