Skip to content

I’m quitting.

January 30, 2014

My job only. :) !
It’s been one year since I started this job – live in companion for two older (than me :) ) ladies with dementia – as I wrote a year ago in my post “My life now”.
And I have enough. Enough of being insulted and mistreated. And enough of being paid not enough for all that and hard work.
But I’m glad I did that. I have done one more good deed. And I have discovered again how strong I’m.
I’m leaving on February 9. And do you know how very happy I’m going to be?
Why?
First – because I did it.
Second – that I survived it.
And third – that is over! :) !
I’m going to stay with my friend and look for new job. Part time job with full time pay this time. :) .

Too much stress. My blood pressure is very high. This is how I know is time for change.
All I need is some rest and with my Vegan Diet I’m going to be like new in no time.

When is the time to quit SOMETHING you have to quit – or that SOMETHING is going to quit you. And this can be more painful.
I’m so happy! 10 more days and I’m going to be free, starting new, better life!

Thank you for visiting. God Bless you ALL.
Oneanna65

From → Uncategorized

48 Comments
  1. Goodluck in finding a new job that suits you!

  2. Good for you to stick with it. Now what?

  3. Glad you’re moving on to something better for your health. Nothing worse than staying in a job that just doesn’t fit. My dad had dementia, my mom and sister had a difficult time taking care of him. He also had mobility issues, so they couldn’t lift him any more. Anyway, he ended up in a care facility. Those caretakers are strong people, as people with Dementia, go through some really rotten stages full of anger. I know I couldn’t do it, but that’s what my daughter is going to school for. She would actually like to open a dementia facility with some ideas she has to keep them stimulated. I say good for her,because she may have to take care of me. :) Good luck!

  4. Good luck in your new endeavours.

  5. Thats a very inspiring & bold move. God bless you and your transition

  6. Thats a real inspiration an bold move. God bless you and your transition into a new phasr of life

  7. Congratulations! Unfortunate events open doors sometimes. Good luck to you!

  8. Good luck on your upcoming plans! :)

  9. Congratulations on your new life plan. I look fwd to hearing of your adventures.

  10. May god protect and watch over you. We are all rooting for you !!!!

  11. Wishing you all the best in your new job that you will find. Bless you for what you did I know it is not easy. It is good to know that you take care of ‘you’ while you take care of others. Hugs!

  12. It certainly sounds as though you have made the right decision. All the best in your future ventures.

  13. Congratulations to you!!!! I’m so happy for you , may you be blessed with new opportunities all around you!!!! Happy hugs!!!!

  14. Good luck and best wishes in your search for a new and rewarding position.

  15. The experience will change when you look back on it – you will see your inner strength and know you did the right thing for you.
    I wish you good luck in finding another job.

  16. Good luck with whatever you do from Feb 9th!

  17. So good to look after you first. Congratulations on your decision.

  18. Congratulations on knowing when to quit (what’s worth quitting, and what’s worth persevering through)!!!! Many more blessings with this new opening in your life! You are truly blessed, and you have lots of wonderful gifts to share.

  19. Sounds like a wise and balanced decision, focusing on yourself after giving much of yourself. Good luck to you.

  20. Here’s hoping you find something that you love to do and get money doing it! I worked with dementia/Alzheimer’s patients and that was the hardest job I ever had to do.

  21. Blessings as you start a new chapter of your life!

  22. sounds very ‘full-on’.
    Not something I could do.

  23. I just quit a job I was not suited for. Good for you!

  24. it takes guts to take such a move. You are my hero as of now.

  25. Good luck, and I am sure your next job will be everything you want and more.

  26. Peter Jason Payne permalink

    Good for you!

    I almost became a CNA myself. I’ve heard a lot of nightmare stories about how patients treat their caregivers.

  27. Best to you!!!!

  28. I didn’t start following you until earlier this month so I didn’t really know what you’ve been doing with your time. Being live-in help can drive anyone nuts, I’m sure. My husband does similar work for two men who are retarded. His shifts are 8 hours long and he gets weekends off. He likes his work, believe it or not, but then, retardation is different than dementia.

    I hope you continue to write here in your blog and tell us what you’re up to.

  29. I was just thinking about my last job today (which I was laid off from) and how upset I was when it happened. The I thought about the job I have now, and how much I love it. And really, how much I hated the job I was laid off from. At the time, I didn’t think of it as a blessing, but it was. Good luck ! I’m sure you’ll do just fine.

  30. Good luck and congratulations on being brave enough to start a new life! Go you!

  31. Good for you, such a brave move. Good luck and i’m sure with your outlook you’ll be fine.

  32. Good job 👏👏

  33. Always follow our dreams and desires

  34. I know pretty much how it feels about quitting a job that has been stressing you out. I worked for a family company and my boss was a great person. However he had two sisters who made my life hell because they did not enjoy being given orders by me, an outsider running part of their company.

    I must say you are braver than I am because I did not quit until it was almost too late. Do not get stresses please. remember your post in June last year when you talked about being HAPPY for absolutely no reason? Keep up the high spirit.

  35. “When is the time to quit SOMETHING you have to quit – or that SOMETHING is going to quit you. And this can be more painful.” -> wonderfully said! All the best to you!

  36. Yay for fresh starts! Good luck. :)

  37. Congratulations for making the decision that is best for you.

  38. Good luck. I know exactly how you feel :) Just took a leave of absence from a job that was stressing me out. It does feel good to just say you’ve had enough! Congratulations on making a change. It can be hard to just do it, but it feels good when you do.

  39. Good luck. I have been there, done that, nine years ago, and it was the best thing I ever did for myself.

  40. Good for you! I am contemplating something similar…not sure what I’m doing!

  41. Oh darling, definitely stick with the decision you made! There is nothing worse than being mistreated and disrespected at work or anything related to that! Life is short as it is to put up with misery like that. Be strong and I know something bright is right there for you!

  42. It takes a smart person to know when to quit. KUDOS for staying so long.

  43. You’re RIGHT, everyday is something new when you have to care for someone with Dementia. I can’t imagine 2. I think I thought my mom was basically fine when she and my step-dad (of 32 years) lived in her house… before her stroke. This past year has been horrendous, so I feel like you, but mine is for 2014. My step-dad passed in August, and my mom is noticeably worse in my opinion. Some days are SO hard… I’m proud of you! Congratulations! :D

  44. Bravo! Good Luck to you.

  45. Good luck! I have just handed my notice in for a job which leaves me bored and underwhelmed so I know how exhilarating it can feel! It the start of something new…Good luck!

  46. you must be feeling liberated and ecstatic. I know what it’s like in an oppressive work environment. It does feel better when there is a way out. Good luck to you. It can only get better, from here on.

  47. Why don’t you write an article or even a book about your experience. Then get it published. Ann

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 24,451 other followers

