Skip to content

Missing chapter…

April 16, 2013

Have you ever read children’s book for grown-ups “The Little Prince” by Antoine De Saint-Exupery? It sold more than 200 million copies. One of the best selling books. I read it many times. I like it very much. But I always thought that the book is too short. 27 short chapters only. Almost like some chapters were missing. And now one of my Angels keeps telling me that he found one of the missing chapters and he wants me to publish it. I don’t argue with Angels. So here it is:
The Little Prince – Missing Chapter – “The Prince of Pain”.
The next Planet was inhabited by the Prince of Pain. A very ugly human. The ugliest of the ugly.
“What are you doing here?” asked Little Prince.
No answer. The ugly human ignored the Little Prince.
Little Prince thought: “Very ugly and ignorant”. :) !
And he asked again: “Who are you?”
Finally the ugly human raised his ugly head and said: “I’m the Prince of Pain”.
“So what are you doing Prince of Pain?” – asked Little Prince.
“I’m giving pain to humans and animals”.
“Why are you doing this?” – demanded Little Prince.
It gives me a pleasure when I watch them to suffer” – replay Prince of Pain.
“So why are you here?” – ask Little Prince.
…”Years ago I was living on Earth, but now they have too many Painkillers. :) ! So for my own safety I have to live here on this lousy planet, give pain with my pain-laser-gun and watch them suffer through my telescope. It is not good anymore”.
“Oh Heavens!!! Thought the Little Prince looking up on the stars. Something have to be done about it. This ugly creature have to be stop”.
And the Little Prince got the brilliant idea…..
He said to Prince of Pain: “Look above, owe there, do you see this dark star? This is new Planet with many people and animals on it, and they don’t have any Painkillers yet….”
At that moment the Prince of Pain get-up from his seat, run to his spacecraft and took-off, heading straight for the dark star without even saying “thank you”… :) !
“What an ungrateful man”… Said the Little Prince to himself.
Of course, the dark star was a Black Hole. And the Little Prince was left with mixed feelings. First he felt very badly for telling a first lie in his life. But he was very happy that there would be no more Pain and Suffering on the Planet Earth….. And he continued happily on his journey…..

P.S.
If you like, if you think that there are more missing chapters of “The Little Prince”, then maybe you can find inspiration in the little book. Write next missing chapter. Let me know. We may collect many chapters and make a little book: “Missing Chapters”…..
This is only a thought. One of my Angels idea. “You gotta have a dream” – he said.
God Bless you All. Oneanna65 :) !

From → Uncategorized

38 Comments
  1. That book was definitely one of the best ones during my childhood. I think thanks to the imagination of little prince, i learned to see elephants inside snakes and sheep inside boxes…
    Living this missing chapter! Write more? ;)

  2. Clever angel :) well done.

  3. A childhood memory indeed..lol…like your missing chapter!..good idea to make that missing chapters book…it might have serious potential! go for it i would say :-)

  4. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  5. I never grow tired of reading and rereading the Little Prince through the years. So much wisdom in that little book.

  6. how very heroic to have cleverly diverted that paingiver into the black hole! hip-hip HOO RAH!

    I hope that it took any lingering pain of yours with it. you deserve sunshine and bright flowers!

    z

  7. Love it , must share with my daughter Miranda, she and I love this book!!! and I love your new chapter!!

  8. I disliked the book as I was a child, because it was so sad and I wasn’t able to understand. But as an adult I love it and when I’m down or blue I read it again. Thanks for this post :o)

  9. I have never read it. Sounds like a trip to the library is in order.

  10. Hi, there. I was nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award and I had to do a special post to receive the award. Part of it was that I had to nominate several other blogs that I like. Here’s the link to my post, explains it all a bit better:

    http://theindeliblelifeofme.wordpress.com/2013/04/18/the-wonderment-of-friday-awardykins/

    Congrats.

  11. Hey Oneanna65 CONGRATS on your 66th Birthday and surviving the Big-C! Way to go!!! You are an inspiration to us all!!!

    I’ve been reading a number of your blog posts and you have such a great positive encouraging attitude, you deserve the title Queen Oneanna65. You have earned it!

    p.s. I did notice that it looks like good old WordPress is kind of screwing-up the sequence of your blog posts though. Initially I was confused when I saw them in this order…

    April 12, 2012 My healthy addiction
    April 6, 2012 My 65-th Birthday
    April 1, 2012 About Symptoms
    April 16, 2013 Missing chapter…
    April 4, 2113 My 66-th Birthday

    It looked to me that you had turned 65 AFTER you already celebrated your 66-th birthday. WOW! If that was true you are the Benjamin Button reversing the aging process! But then I looked at the years and saw that somehow your April 2012′s have been floated to the top of the stack. But I saw your list of posts on the right-hand column and that is okay. So, I’m guessing it’s just a WordPress glitch. I wouldn’t worry about it. But, I was really hoping you had found the secret to reversing the aging process. Oh well!

    Your blogs are great, keep it up!!!

    God Bless you Queen Oneanna65!

  12. Congratulations on your 66th birthday – every day so precious. Pain is so hard to comprehend. I’ll go with the Little Prince, whatever means he finds to get rid of pain.

  13. I’ve never read it. At least I don’t remember is I have or not. I know I’ve heard of it. Damn! I’m going to have to read it now! As for the missing chapter and subsequent possible missing chapters? What a great idea!

  14. I can’t believe this! I’ve just ordered it from Amazon lol

  15. I read this when I was too young to fathom its subtext. Not saying I’m old enough to “get it” now–but you have inspired me to revisit. :)

  16. My sister and I still love reading the Little Prince! The fox and its subsequent taming is my favourite part :) Such a beautiful book for any age.

    “I am looking for friends. What does that mean — tame?”

    “It is an act too often neglected,” said the fox. “It means to establish ties.”

    “To establish ties?”

    “Just that,” said the fox. “To me, you are still nothing more than a little boy who is just like a hundred thousand other little boys. And I have no need of you. And you, on your part, have no need of me. To you I am nothing more than a fox like a hundred thousand other foxes. But if you tame me, then we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world….”

  17. I just started to re-read this book! I love your idea of “Missing Chapters!” Yours was great

  18. very interesting! Like your blog!

  19. I admire your courage, imagination and creativity. Keep sending the bad stuff into the black hole!

  20. I really like this. It is a powerful image for doing away with pain in our lives. Thanks once again for visiting Discover Santosha.

  21. Glad to see you’re still here – Glad to say I’m still here too! (my birthday isn’t until May though)
    Thanks for popping by http://ja2da.com
    David

  22. I love the idea of a “missing chapter” in many beloved stories. Great job.

  23. Such a lovely story

  24. I never had the chance to read it; it is now on my summer reading list for bedtime stories!

  25. It’s one of my favourite book. The missing chapter is lovely written. Very delightful ! :)

  26. Oh my gosh, that was my favorite book for so many years! And I love this chapter you added. Awesome! Thank you for visiting my blog. You are very courageous. I am glad to have met you.

  27. I enjoyed reading your additional story to The Little Prince. It makes me remember the times (and I still do) when I get caught in my own struggles and I give pain to others without realizing it or how much they’ve cared.

  28. I never got to read the Little Prince. I have a list of what I missed reading as a child and I am trying to catch up these days. Recently, I read my first Brothers Grimm fairy tales. I think we can learn a lot from children’s stories. Thanks for the post I enjoyed your idea about missing chapters.

  29. Love this – fantastic idea! And I love The Little Prince along with To Kill A Mockingbird! These two books still make me cry! Thank you for liking one of my posts :)

  30. I read this so many years ago . . . I’m gonna have to pull it out again now! Thanks for the missing chapter. And thanks, Oneanna65, for ‘Liking’ one of my posts!

  31. wow. Amazing. Thank God for peace and not pain. Amen

  32. Fabulous, what a web site it is! This weblog provides useful facts to us, keep it up.

  33. Gotta love angels, and good thinking about the missing chapters! Long live Le Petit Prince, a school-years favourite of mine. Thanks for noticing my initial post – and keep up your writing, which provides pleasure not pain.

  34. Never much liked the book as a kid, but I sure like your “missing” chapter!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,734 other followers

