Skip to content

Anemia or Leukemia.

May 22, 2012

First – What is Anemia? Anemia is a condition in which low red blood cell count or hemoglobin in the blood decreases oxygen delivery to every tissue in the body, so the body can’t function properly.

Anemia symptoms: fatigue, shortness of breath, palpitations, paleness, chest pain, dizziness, fainting, low blood pressure.

In the case of acute Anemia symptoms progress quickly.

There are 5 types of Anemia: 1. Iron – deficiency, 2. Aplastic, 3. Hemolyptic, 4. Sickle cell, 5. Pernicious. Plus Acute Anemia = 6 tyes of Anemia. ( Like one would be not enough.)

Some types of Anemia can be life treatening. ( That’s not so good.)

Blood loss or low levels of iron, zinc, copper, Vit B6 and Vit B12 are common causes of Anemia.

 

And now about Leukemia.

The word Leukemia comes from greek: leukos (white) and  aima (blood). It is a cancer of the blood or bone marrow, when DNA of white blood cells becomes damaged. A person who has Leukemia has abnormal production of white blood cells. They grow chaotically, living no room for healthy blood cells. ( Waw, that’s scary!)

Leukemia symptoms: easy bruising and bleeding, frequent infections, paleness, nausea, flu – like symptoms, fatigue, weight loss, headache.

 

My symptoms: paleness, fatigue ( I’m over 50 y.o. ???), heart palpitations ( when I get very upset…).

My self – diagnosis: I have Anemia, probably nr1. And not acute one, because I stay the same for some time now… Anemia is better than Leukemia, because is not a cancer.

I’m eating ( basically) healthy food ( plus vitamins and Ensure ), but for some reason my body needs extra : iron, zinc, copper, Vit.B’s, Vit C. I just have to be careful, so I don’t overdose  on the good stuff. So I’m replacing Ensure and other suplements with Geritol ( with Ferrex 18 ) – tonic- high potency multi – vitamin & iron suplement. ( Two days only and my lips are already one notch pinkier.)

And I’m sure (100%) that I’m going to be fine. To be sure only 99% is not enough. This 1% of doubt may destroy 99% of believing.

Remember: healthy blood = life.

Thank you for visiting.cancer

From → Uncategorized

31 Comments
  1. Thank you for this very informative piece! And I wish you the best of health 😊 God bless! 😄

  2. Here’s to a good boost to the body! I had a year long battle with it and was glad when I finally came back around to normal.

  3. my father died four years ago from parkinsons, and heart, and leukemia family, myaloma

  4. Sending blessings and great health prayers your way

  5. Prayers and blessings- go mbeannai dia dhuit

  6. I learn more from your blog than I do from most other things. Thanks.

  7. Excellent post! Iron deficiency is quite common in females still menstruating. Over 50 should be brought to your doctors attention.
    At age 40 I had the same symptoms; exhaustion, paleness, heart palpitations. I made a handful of ER visits with palpitations. Ten long years later iron OVERLOAD was discovered by my rheumatologist. Hemochromatosis is a common disorder but not many doctors bother to test for TOO MUCH IRON. Treatment is lifelong; a pint of blood is taken to bring the iron back in check. At the moment my iron is loading again for no apparent reason.
    Now tell me have you ever heard of too much iron? I attempt to blog about it but feel shallow in my day to day. Thus I haven’t really written anything….but now that I wrote this I will C&P and put it in blog. It’s H63d.com (the title has much to do with the disease)
    I always insert this whenever anemia is mentioned because the 2 are opposites but the symptoms can be the the same…..

  8. There have been lots of serious health issues in my family this month.
    Thank you for popping by House of Angels, because I’ve no found you.

    You’ve inspired and made me feel stronger.

    Wishing you the best of everything … much love

  9. Thank you for following our blog. Both of us have lost love ones to cancer but recently Angie’s dad went into remission from liver cancer and his outlook during chemo and doctor’s visits and the entire ordeal was positive, much like yours. We tell our kids how, for years, he exercised, ate good food and took care of himself and how his remission was him “cashing in” all those chips. Keep positive and take care of that body girl…it’s carrying around a lovely spirit!

  10. Thank you for taking the time to share this information. When I was younger I was treated for anemia for several years with iron supplements. Periodically I still had to add a little iron to my diet, but the vitamin supplements tend to irritate my stomach. A friend suggested cooking with cast iron cookware. It seems that some of the iron from the cookware is absorbed by the food cooked in it, and therefore ingested when we eat the food. Since I have been doing this, I haven’t had any further problems with deficiencies.

    As for your battle with cancer, I am encouraged by your attitude and spirit! I pray that God gives you strength moment by moment, and the grace to continue sharing your insights with others. Too often people think that a diagnosis of cancer is the end and they simply give up. I am glad that you are not giving up. Keep up the good work!

    Also, I wanted to thank you for following my blog. I hope you found some encouragement there.
    God bless!

  11. Hi, thanks for following my blog! Coincidentally, I was just diagnosed with severe anemia (and blogged about it at http://arlynlawrence.com/2012/05/09/no-worst-case-scenario/). It was a little touch and go at first, worrying … was it leukemia? So I sure related to your post! Thanks for the info and wishing God’s blessings and good health to you!

  12. Kiwicommunicator permalink

    Happy 65th birthday for a couple of months back. A great milestone. I love your attitude. My 86 year old mother who has lived a privileged life and has also enjoyed the privilege of excellent health spends a great deal of time talking about when and how she is going to die. Whether healthy or dealing with health issues, I guess we all think about our mortality from time to time. I just wonder, though, if Mum might gain more pleasure from the days she has if she were to wake up each morning and consider how she is going to LIVE that day (a lesson learned the hard way for me, when my gorgeous second husband was diagnosed with prostate cancer in his mid-fifties, only 12 weeks after the start of our relationship.) Eight years on, Iggy is in the clear. Holding hands through Iggy’s cancer journey has made us treasure every moment we have together.

  13. Your post on Anemia or Leukemia is very informative. Keep up the good work and congratulations on your Awards. I would also like to thank you for visiting my blog. God Bless

  14. Happy belated 65th and keep on staying healthy!

  15. Way 2 C IT permalink

    Get well soon ! Our prayers are surely with you :)
    God bless you
    and thanks for the informative blog

  16. incredible blog. i appreciate your genuine honesty in the posts-and the insightfulness. i will be reading more! sending good your way.

  17. Maya Panika permalink

    My grandma died from pernicious anaemia that simply wouldn’t respond to treatment so I know how threatening it can be. Take good care of yourself.

  18. petit4chocolatier permalink

    Thank you for the valuable information. I wish you the best of health. ~ judy

  19. Wow, I didn’t know all that! Keep up the great work and keep healthy!

    Thanks for stopping by! :)

  20. Amazing positive outlook and very insightful, Thank you for sharing all of this.

  21. Massive thanks for the like on my post “Not a techie after all” and a little more than a coincidence I think. I too have survived cancer (ovarian) and i take my hat off to anyone who has to cope with the evil disease. I love your site, your optimism and your obvious zest for life. Its very refreshing! xx

  22. Good luck. k.

  23. My son, Graham, was diagnosed with leukemia (ALL) when he was 2 years + old. That was the summer of 1982. I wrote a series of articles that were published by our local paper (The Greensboro News & Record) over six consecutive days. Last week, with permission from the paper, I republished the articles on my blog. Like many above commented, I also believe that telling your story about your fight with cancer is incredibly important — not only for you — but for all those people you will never meet who will benefit from the information.

    So, keep up the good work.

    The series can be found under True Storys in my Genre tab, and is titled “Graham’s Story.”

  24. Knowledgeable!

  25. So ~ do you or do you not have cancer? I do. I have Multiple Myeloma. Have had since 2001 ~ DX 2002 when treatment started. I was given about 5 years … My doctor told a nurse for my Dad who has another “C” that I was a Miracle.
    I live each day as best I can and right now I feel OK ~ knowing that MINE is BACK. It raised its ugly head back last August or so … and I’ve had no treatment yet this go around.
    So keep me informed about what is going on with you. HUGS sent your way. Hope you are feeling well these days. (I turned 60 in February).

  26. 1% doubt can destroy the 99% of believing – good message!

  27. cynthiamcampbell permalink

    Thank You for reminding me about eating well; I had animal crackers for breakfast and a lemon bar for dinner last night. You explain the importance of body functions quite well, it’s good to be reminded

  28. That was a very quick diagnosis but you only match some symptoms in the Anaemia list –assuming of course that you didn’t skip others for the sake of brevity. Did this diagnosis finally match with your blood work?

  29. Darren Shuffler permalink

    It is estimated by the WHO (World Health Organization) that iron deficiency is the number 1 nutritional disorders in the world with as much as 80% of the world afflicted. Iron deficiency occurs when the balance of iron that is taken into the body is less than what is required by the body for normal function. The process of iron deficiency is usually slow because the body will first try to compensate for the imbalance by tapping into the forms of iron storage within the body. Once the iron storage forms are depleted, blood hemoglobin levels begin to decrease leading to iron deficiency anemia.-

    View all of the most popular content on our personal internet page
    <,http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/inflammation-of-the-liver/

  30. I just want to know , in my condition , my hemoglobin is 97.0, hematocrit 0.33, platelet is 504, mcv 68.50, mch 20.70, mchc 29.70,,, what does it mean? And also i can fell the symptoms of ths 2…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 24,566 other followers

